A Month in Review: July 2017

The older I get (I say at the ripe old age of 29), the more each month seems to hurtle by like a runaway roller coaster. July was especially full of highs and lows — from a trip to Disneyland to crying before my endoscopy. My anxiety has spiraled wildly out of control recently but I think I am starting to get a grip on things again, partly by building better habits.

July was the month I bumped my Fitbit daily goal up to 7000 steps a day, lost my Fitbit Zip, and ordered a Fitbit Flex. I went to the doctor, spoke to a therapist, and started a daily mindfulness journal using Griddiary. My partner took more nature walks on July than we probably have in all of January through May, and we took the first major steps in finding the perfect wedding venue (even though we’re not technically engaged yet and won’t be tying the knot until at least 2019, lol). Lots of good things happened and good progress has been made.

One thing I’ve been thinking about lately is this blog. I’m not quite sure what to do with it, especially considering the fact that most of my recent posts have veered away from writing to self-care and recipes. For now, I’m just going to let it be. There are a lot of other important life decisions I will have to make in August and blog plans will just have to take a backseat, but in the meantime I will continue to post whatever pops into my lil head.

 


 

Here’s what I am currently:

Writing

… Occasionally. I’ve started working on a short story that goes with my 2016 NaNoWriMo novel, and it may or may not eventually morph into the beginning of the novel.

Planning

… On being so much healthier. First, I’m now entirely gluten free (barring accidents). Second, I am keeping an eye on my macronutrients. I ordered a Fitbit Flex because I lost my Fitbit Zip in the Castro at some point between two or three blackberry ciders and I don’t know how many White Russians. Until it arrives I’m giving myself a little vacation on the calorie counting, but the Fitbit app automatically divides calories up to show the percentage of cals from carbs, fat, and protein. Fact: I need to eat more protein.

2017-07-26 18.56.35
Green Onion Pancakes Experiment #1

Making

… More things with green onions. We planted WAY too many green onions. This has lead to Green Onion Pancakes Experiment #1. I wrote everything down so that ongoing experiments will be better.

Plus, banana pancakes. But I’ll save those for a later post.

Anticipating

… Something in the works that I can’t talk about yet. But I have my fingers crossed really, really hard.

Reading

… An collection of paranormal stories. I forget the title, but the last short was about Peter Pan.

Watching

… 13 Reasons Why. I am not proud of this, but I put it on for background noise while I was working on something one day and now I need to know what the hell is going on.

Feeling

… Less overwhelmed. More capable of letting things go, or at least not holding onto them longer than I actually need to. (For example, work problems belong at work. I do not need to bring them home.) Less sick, because my body finally adjusted to the new dose of my medication and I don’t have to dread an upcoming endoscopy.

Needing

… To meditate more often. I think I meditated once in July, and that was a drop in the bucket compared to how many times I woke up thinking, “Today will be the day I start going that again.”

Loving

… Some of the new blogs I’ve found recently. I have a special grid in my diary devoted to this 21 Day Self Care Challenge over at Discovering Your Happiness. I started a few days late and did not have a chance to take a mindfulness walk on Saturday, but it’s all good.

Hating

… How little effort some people put into their work sometimes.

Hoping

… That I will lose more weight this month. While I do have a goal, my main aim is simply to be healthier — but I want both, haha.