IWSG Post #08

unnamed

JUNE QUESTION: Did you ever say “I quit”? If so, what happened to make you come back to writing?

(Who has two thumbs and hasn’t answered an IWSG question since February? And also totally forgot to post this a couple weeks ago? This girl.)

I don’t think I’ve ever walked away from writing as a whole.

There are plenty of drafts I’ve walked away from though. I walked away from one story in high school because it just read too much like Grapes of Wrath, a book I did not particularly enjoy but happened to be reading for lit class at the time. I walked away from my first NaNoWriMo attempt, also in high school, before finishing because it was just not good, haha.

I walked away from a couple of writing communities over the years, all fanfic related. One was all but inactive by the time I joined anyway. Another one was a little bit full of drama and many fans who were… let’s call them blunt. Plus, I got sick for a bit and got behind watching the show, took a break to avoid spoilers, and just sorta never jumped back in. The third was less fic writing and more rp based (role play, meaning I was writing as my chucaracter and pantsing it the hole way along with everyone else), and moving away from that one was more a combo of having less time to devote to keeping up and a bunch of my rp friends drifting away from it too.

With each of those I walked away with more than I’d started with. I learned so much from my three fandoms before moving on: how to work with betas, how to share my writing regularly with other people, how to write quickly and be able to post quickly to keep up with the pace of rp threads. There’s a fair amount of my writing still on the internet that I’m not necessarily proud of, quality-wise, but I’m proud of the fact that I did it. I’m also never going to read it again, because I don’t have to and I don’t wanna.

For the most part, my breaks from writing have been due to a lull in mood and energy. I take a break to focus on getting through the daily grind, and when I get back to a place where I have energy to spare again I wrote.

Leave a Reply

