A Month in Review: March 2017

Inspired partly by this post, but borrowing the cool structure from this one.

March was a very, very busy month for me. One of my jobs is for a parenting magazine, and we had our big annual event with booths and live performances and all sorts of family friendly fun. I did all the social media marketing for it, all the email marketing for it (including informational emails to the booth vendors), put the performance schedule together, and acted as stage manager when the person who was going to do it ended up needing back surgery.

The show was a HUGE success. One group canceled a couple days before and one group just didn’t show up, but we started out strong with an awesome exotic animal show. Towards the end of the program we had this AMAZING hiphop dance group, some of which were six to eight years old. The younger ones were adorably flustered, because apparently this was the first performance they’d ever done! Some of their parents even brought flowers to hand them after they left the stage. The older students were really good, and the dance instructor was this cool, super enthusiastic lady who I kind of want to be friends with now. My partner and I made sure to nab one of her fliers to save for when we have kids, haha.

All of my coworkers told me I did a good job with the show. My partner, who doesn’t like crowds of loud unruly children that you might find at, say, a camp fair event held at a mall, but came anyway and stayed the whole time. One of the people manning the booths came over and thanked me for including his Christmas light display in the December issue guide. Our Editor told me that the rough draft summer camp guide I’d submitted to her last week for our April issue was one of the neatest, thorough, and most consistent guides she’d ever seen — and our office manager had already said earlier that week that they were sorry for everything they’d needed to cut for space reasons.

So basically I spent all of Friday on cloud nine.

Here are some of my other March highlights:

  • Made new friends at our local bar. This is a big deal because, despite living in this county for a couple years now, we didn’t have any local friends.
  • Went to an awesome Meetup for local queer folks. We’re basically the youngest people in the group, but they’re cool people and we had a lot of fun. Also, it turned out that the wine tasting was free, donated by the owner who was a member of the group as well! We bought a bottle to show our support.
  • Checked out the local sports center/arcade hall. They had everything. They had ski ball, air hockey,  and all the usual kinds of arcade video games, but instead of collecting tickets it all went on your money card to be redeemed for prizes later. I have less than complimentary feelings towards the bar service, which was insanely slow, but it was an awesome night and we need to go back. (There are some prizes we have our eyes on that require more points to collect.)
  • My partner had interviews in some local tasting rooms. Lots of potential new job news is brewing, people. It’s very exciting.

And here’s what I am currently:

Writing

… All the things! I’ve committed myself to writing 26 short stories this month and am already super excited about posting the letter B story on Monday.

Planning

… Some potential life changes for the better. More on that later, maybe, when something comes of it.

Making 

… In indoor cat garden. Luci is a fan of the ‘nip. 2017-04-01 16.12.27

Anticipating

… A really cool Passport event we’ve signed up for in April, and hoping some of our friends will be able to come with us. The wineries in that particular valley are awesome, and, very importantly, this two day event includes food. Food is with wine is vital if, like me, you are a lightweight.

Reading

… Lots of new blogs participating in the A to Z Challenge.

Watching

… Buffy the Vampire Slayer. We didn’t get all the way through it again before Netflix cut us off, so we caved and signed up for Hulu. I can’t help but think this was a very clever marketing campaign collaboration…

Feeling

… Content. I think April will be a good month for our household.

Needing

… More sleep. Somebody was snoring last night.

Loving

… My partner and our cats, even though a different somebody keeps trying to eat my hair.

Hating

… Donald #NotMyPresident Trump. He and his cronies make me so mad I actively avoid watching the news.

Hoping

… That my partner gets a job they love, that we tell our parents about a hilarious new life choice we made and they don’t judge us too much, and that my cousin who is turning 21 this month actually follows through on letting us drag him up here to our local bar.

5 thoughts on “A Month in Review: March 2017

      1. Haha, I’m just glad no one has tried to pee in it yet. I had to repot something at my parents house once while we were visiting – one of the drawbacks of using all natural litter.

        Like

Leave a Reply

