#AtoZChallenge Theme Reveal *drum roll please!*

thmrevel
This post is hilariously late due to a very hectic (yet satisfying) work week.

Last year I signed up for the A to Z blogging challenge on a complete whim. I had no plan, no theme, just a vague idea that I’d write short posts based on each letter of the alphabet, and that each would have something to do with life and the writing ideas that can be found in it, because this is a writing blog.

No wait, I take that back. I did have a theme. It was Samuel L Jackson saying “Hold onto your butts” because I didn’t know where I was going with anything.

For those that aren’t familiar with the challenge, it’s an event that happens every April with participants blogging from all over the word. You write posts that start with a letter of the alphabet. You post everyday except Sundays. It can be about your writing, or whatever theme you want if you want to have a theme. This is my second year participating and I’ve come back to it wiser and a little more organized.

A post a day is a lot of work, so this year I’ve decided that I need more of a strategy. Since one of my New Year’s Resolutions for 2017 is to write more and I’ve kind of been interested in trying Camp NaNoWriMo for a while, I am going to combine the three and write short stories throughout the month based on the letters of the alphabet.

These are the guidelines I’ve set for myself:

  • Most of the stories will have an LGBT theme with a high chance of adult content.
  • Word counts of around 500 per post. I’ve written the first drafts of a couple already and that seems to be the average — plus I wanted a number for my Camp NaNoWriMo word goal.
  • Each story will be a complete snapshot, something that stands up well on its own but I can still come back to and write more about later if the mood strikes.
  • While I might do some of this anyway, I will definitely continue the three stories that get the most likes, comments, and views. So if you read anything you like and want to see more someday, do one or more of those things!

Check out this A to Z Challenge blog post, where there are links to other themes on other blogs in the comments.

I look forward to reading your comments throughout the month! ❤️

3 thoughts on “#AtoZChallenge Theme Reveal *drum roll please!*

  1. First time I’m doing it! I took the plunge and chose to do poems with loooads of alliteration in, and, well… yes… I only started this yesterday when I heard of it! Eeeek!
    Good way to get back into writing though:)
    BEST of luck with your posts. I am sure with the forethought it will prove smoother than my experience so far!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Way to jump right in! I definitely started writing in March, heh, but there’s plenty of letters I don’t have anything written for yet and I am a slooooow writer in some ways. Good luck to you too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

