Tell Me All About You

Inkbiotic recently invited readers to answer some personal questions. Feel free to answer them too if you want. 😊


If you are a blogger, how would you describe what you write about? Are there specific themes you stick to or a style you use? (feel free to add a link)

Mostly I write about writing, but one of my New Years Resolutions was to post more of my creative writing.

Do you write driven by inspiration or do you struggle to find things to say?

A little of both. When I started out, I tried to hold myself to weekly posts — Monday Musings, Words of Wisdom Wednesdays, etc. It didn’t work very well. Now I just sort of ramble for a bit, then go back through and make sure it related to writing in some way.

I struggle more with getting stories written. The challenge prompts from TheProse and prompts from Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie have been very helpful though.

Which kinds of posts do you most like writing? Do other people like reading them?

I don’t really have a favorite kind of post, I just really like the ones where I had an idea of what I wanted to write and got all of it down before it went poof. As for whether people like reading them, I’m quite pleased with every like and comment I get.

What wouldn’t you ever write about? Why?

There are details about my personal life that I wouldn’t write about. For one thing I like the relative anonymity of the internet, and for another I know that once you put it online it never really goes away. And besides, not all details that are part of my daily life are really mine to talk about.

What’s your favourite post that you’ve written? (again, add a link if you like) What did you like about it? Did other people ‘get’ it?

Right now I’m most pleased with Gender & Writing because people definitely got it, I can tell from the comments. And that makes me happy.

What’s your favourite post that someone else has written? What about it caught your attention?

It’s hard to pick a favorite, but the most strikingly memorable one I can think of at the moment is “The logic of emotion” by Nimue Brown. The title alone caught my eye because in college I wrote a 42-page psychology/biology paper on emotions in Vulcans, which included watching Star Trek: The Original Series for credit. Writing that paper was so much fun, and I learned so much while doing it. This blog post was a really good read because it put something in a way that I’ve never thought about it before: “Emotions are like weather systems – not always good, or useful, but a physical reality caused by complex influences. There is a logic to them.”

Do you keep a blog because you want it to lead somewhere? Or do you just like writing?

I like the writing and I like the practice I get at putting myself out there, including reading and commenting on other blog posts. When I started this blog I wanted to write more, even if it wasn’t necessarily fiction. It’s been over a year now and I’m finally starting to ease naturally into writing stories.

What sort of blogs do you most like to read? Personal? Stories? Factual? Pictures?

Mostly I like reading writers writing about writing. I also like reading other people’s personal experiences and what they take from it. Plus, it’s fun to read book reviews and add new things to my “Want to Read” shelf on Goodreads.

What kind of posts put you off reading? Is there anything else about a blog that puts you off (eg fonts, popups)?

Not going to lie, I am put off by reading along and suddenly it gets religious. Everyone is free to believe what they want, but I have a lot of pent up exasperation towards evangelism and… my parents for calling in the smarmy, condescending pastor to talk to me about how, when he was my age, he went through an atheist phase as a teenager too. It’s just a thing, no offense meant by it.

Also put off by homophobia, transphobia, pro-life at the expense of everyone else’s choice, pro-Trump, and racist sentiments.

When do you write and read blogs? From work? On the toilet? Inside a volcano?

Yes, all of those.

… Fine, not the volcano. Don’t judge me.

Leave a Reply

