Sunday Gratitudes #44

What are you grateful for this week? I’m grateful for…

☕️ – Meeting my January writing, blogging, and walking goals so far.

☕️ – Baking some delicious gluten free orange spice cakes on Sunday evening. From a baking mix, true, but I drastically altered the recipe to include orange and chocolate.

☕️ – Having a great lunch break on Monday. Even though my boss sent me on errands that were all an hour plus of driving apart, I ended up taking my break in a gorgeous spot.

☕️ – Watching the season five finale of Buffy the Vampire Slayer with my baby.

☕️ – Sleeping in. Even if I only got to do it because I felt crummy and took a sick day.

☕️ – Being able to take most of the week off due to being sick. It’s a luxury that my bank account will be crankier about it than my boss.

☕️ – Getting a bunch of dishes washed. Accomplishment!

☕️ – Feeling not-sick enough to scoop the litter boxes. They really needed it. Plus, getting all the bags of old litter thrown away! (The trash-pickup can we share with our landlord has limited space.)

☕️ – Signing petitions. It seems like demonstrations of complaint will have more effect on this president than any that have come before.

☕️ – Realizing my health insurance is all set, and that even though I haven’t gotten my card in the mail I can call it up on my phone via an app. Now I can get my prescription refilled.

☕️ – A wine tasting Sunday funday. We found some great local places that only have a $5 tasting fee, too!

☕️ – Feeling hilariously superior. Have you ever, at work, been sent a list that you yourself made as if it were new information?

☕️ – Payday.

☕️ – Meeting up with one of my college buddies in the city! It was a huge deal to me because almost none of my east coast friends have visited me in California, and I haven’t seen him in six years. Also, he was the one who helped me set up the OkCupid profile that lead to my current relationship, and he finally got to meet my partner.

☕️ – Debates with my partner. As a rule I don’t really enjoy these things, but although we didn’t agree and we’re both rather annoyed that neither of us came around to the other’s point of view, we did reach a good ending point. Eventually. And I know it makes them happier to have these sorts of intense conversations than it does me, so that’s good for somebody at least.

☕️ – Screamin’ Mimi’s ice cream.

☕️ – Realizing in time that the weird brown thing next to my pillow when I woke up was a tiny nugget of cat poop and not touching it. (Lol thanks cats.)

☕️ – How happy the dogs were to see us when we came down for a visit.

☕️ – Being able to squeeze in time with my friend and his gf, my partners friend and her bf, my partner’s parents, and my family all in two days. Efficiency!

☕️ – Taking a pic of a chocolate sale to support a local art program. Because I also work for a local parenting magazine, I was able to post it to twitter and Instagram where people might actually see it and stop by. I hope it helped.

☕️ – The Sebastopol Starbucks. It’s just our favorite. The baristas there actually bother to read my name on my gold card instead of just asking and inevitably misspelling it. It’s a tiny thing, but it shows consideration and, idk, common sense. That’s what having your name on the card is for, right?

☕️ – Waking up to warm kitten snuggles. (Probably the same one who pooped by my pillow but whatevs. When I get up she’ll roll off my partner into the spot I just vacated and be all “WhaT?!” That will be my revenge.)

Leave a Reply

