Sunday Gratitudes #37

One day late, but only because I was without internet connection on a family visit.

“We are anxious. We worry. We think. We think some more. To stop the cycle, we often need a pattern interrupt. Believing that there is abundance in the world and that there is enough to give and to receive often helps us to get off of the hamster wheel and into the stream of life.” (x)

What have you felt grateful for this week?


I’m grateful for…

 

🦄 – Bagels with cream cheese. Great breakfast.

🦄 – More micro-line pens! Now I have a bunch of them that can live in my briefcase for whenever I need them away from home.

🦄 – The three containers of Oregon Chai mix that I got at Raleys for 79 cents each.

🦄 – The Amazon gift card I used to buy the pens, which was a gift from my old supervisor. I really miss my old coworkers and job sometimes.

🦄 – Having a chance to focus on some tasks at work that I’ve needed to get cracking on for a while.

🦄 – The fish pond that we’ve set up in a half wine barrel on the back patio for our new goldfish!

🦄 – Remembering to bring a thermos with me on my lunchtime caffeine run and getting 50 cents off.

🦄 – Ben & Jerry’s Tonight Dough.

🦄 – Having a fish pond!

🦄 – The camaraderie and support of my current coworkers.

🦄 – How, when you sit in a hot car for half an hour, it feels really nice just about everywhere else. (It was a bad day in general so I really, really appreciated this feeling.)

🦄 -Commenting on a restaurant’s Instagram post about beer and inadvertently prompting them to post about our cider next! That’s what I love about social media. What a super interaction.

🦄 – Hot showers. It’s starting to get chilly at night! We haven’t set the space heater up yet but in the meantime I always have this to fall back on.

🦄 – Having the presence of mind to write things down in case I need to remember the niggling little details later. It’s a great comfort.

🦄 – My paycheck! I thought it might come on Friday after I had already left for Montana, but it was there in time for me to deposit before I left and be able to pay my bills over the weekend rather than Tuesday evening.

🦄 – Speaking up for myself on missing mileage reimbursement — both in the sense of standing up for myself and for being organized enough to notice it.

🦄 – Being able to travel and visit my 102 year old grandmother while she’s still in possibly good health for her age.

🦄 – Air travel and arriving safely.

🦄 – My partner’s willingness to get up at ass o’clock in the morning and drive me to SFO.

🦄 – Seeing Grammy again! I haven’t been up since her 100th birthday party. She may loose track of what word she wants to use halfway into a sentence, but she spotted us from all the way down the hallway, from behind even, and knew who we were. I don’t think I could do that.

🦄 – Trying a Ciderboys hard cider for the first time. Cinnamon flavor though, which I don’t drink a lot of so I’m not really sure how to compare it to other ciders I’ve had. I wish they’d just had a regular flavor at the store.

🦄 – My dad picking me up at the airport. He’s genuinely pleased to see me.

🦄 – Figuring out how to hook up the DVD player my dad happened to have with him when my aunt and uncle’s player and audio set-up proved too convoluted to operate without instructions.

🦄 – Glacier Park in Montana. We just drove the Going To The Sun highway, or whatever it’s called, and only got out into the briskly chilly great outdoors for a couple photo ops, but it was a gorgeous drive.

🦄 – A great visit with Grammy. Again, she sometimes forgets what word she wants but she knew my funny poofy pants were Russian. Even Dad and I couldn’t remember which country my parents bought that for me in. Somewhere around there, at least.

🦄 – A great dinner with Dad. The white sauce with capers and tarragon (?) with my salmon was delicious, and his choice of the Conundrum white wine blend from Kaymus winery was excellent.

🦄 – Remembering to outright thank Dad for dinner. I’m getting better about expressing gratitude in the moment.

Leave a Reply

