Sunday Gratitudes #36

“In particular for some more introverted people, the practice of gratitude can improve self-worth in some. Often when we take on a label like introvert or shy, it can cause us to feel less about ourselves. But research shows gratitude reduces social comparisons that might cause us to feel like we are not enough.” (x)

What have you felt grateful for this week?


I’m grateful for…

 

🏆 – Dating the cutest patoot.

🏆 – New cat toys. Both of them have been playing with them, and Frankie almost never condescends to play with toys (while we’re around to watch). She was so pleased that she loafed next to me on the couch all night.

🏆 – Getting Frankie-loaf couch snuggles two nights in a row!

🏆 – Our friend Annie’s cat, Nitro, liking the toys she got him while she was up here visiting us.

🏆 – Sunshine Coffee Roasters.

🏆 – Stranger things. It’s so captivating! Although now that we’ve finished it, I am sad. I hope Netflix comes out with more soon.

🏆 – Caffeine. I felt like a zombie all morning at work until I made a thermos of tea. Didn’t even need to add honey.

🏆 – Raspberry lemonade. First my partner bought a bottle of it at the store, and since then I’ve just kept refilling it using my stash of Crystal Light packets of the same flavor. The latter is not as delicious, but it does help us resist the urge to buy more soda.

🏆 – Getting permission for a workday at the county fair! Woo, pouring cider!

🏆 – The press release I sent out actually getting posted somewhere! That’s a first for me. Also, bloggers are a lot easier to talk into doing that than more traditional media outlets.

🏆 – Delicious pasta sauce.

🏆 – Having Friday off (because I’m working at the fair on Saturday)!

🏆 – Whole grain naan sent from my old workplace. I miss those guys. I’m really glad I had the experience of working there for two years — it was good preparation for the small business start-up world, and the food and beverage industry.

🏆 – Being able to take pills. I needed the Advil to banish my headache.

🏆 – Getting so many things done on my day off!

🏆 – Clean litter boxes. Like, soap clean.

🏆 – Costco! Lol, we hadn’t been to Costco in a long time. And it was during the samples hours.

🏆 – Cotton candy!

🏆 – Going to the Mendocino County Fair & Apple Show. Pouring cider was fun, we ate a large curly fries that I swear was bigger than my head, and my partner won six goldfish. So… now we have six goldfish and two cats. Let the adventures begin.

🏆 – My partner volunteered to help pour at the California Cider Competition table and was not only super helpful, but really good at it! There is a future tasting room staff member/employee of the month if I ever saw one. (Now all we need is to get that tasting room built.)

🏆 – How happy my partner is about the fish. It’s pretty adorable.

🏆 – The way we won those fish. Technically we only earned won or two, because regardless of ability to aim that game was hard. Then the guy got so exasperated that we were still there and hadn’t won more fish yet that he just have us another four. (It had been a long, hot day. He’d spent all of it in a booth surrounded and occasionally being hit by pingpong balls. He was pretty done. It was great.)

🏆 – How many things I had to be grateful for this week!

5 thoughts on “Sunday Gratitudes #36

  1. Wow! What a lot of things to be grateful for, well done. Also remember extraversion and introversion is a continuum, just like how tall you are, one place on that continuum is not automatically better than another. If everyone was an extrovert the world would be a terrible place!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. On another matter, do you write short stories? I’ve been asked by a company who have published one of my short stories to invite other authors to submit to their next anthology. They are looking for something less than 1500 words with an animal theme. Interested?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’m a little rusty, but I do. Are they looking for any specific genre or just anything with animals? I tend to do a lot of magical realism sort of stuff when left to my own devices, if not straight out fantasy. But if they’d take that, I’d be happy to try writing and submitting something.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. As long as it is animal themed then they are interested. My story in their first anthology was Sci Fi and that was fine so I would think Fantasy would be fine as well.

        Like

Leave a Reply

