When I started this blog, I wanted to focus on creative writing — my personal experiences as a writer, techniques, fun things to write about, etc. I’ve since discovered that there are a lot of blogs like this. That doesn’t bother me, because everyone’s experience is different and has a unique perspective, so it’s not like the niche is ever going to fill up. It does create a lot of other noise for one blogger’s voice to get lost in, but I didn’t start this blog under any illusions that it would make me Internet Famous.

Mostly, the reason I haven’t been posting much lately is that I just haven’t been writing.

My personal life has been complicated recently by apartment problems. These problems have been half solved, half replaced… by moving and unpacking and trying to get organized again.

Also, there’s work. I have two jobs right now, but the same boss for both and technically I’m still on just one payroll. One of these jobs is a sort of marketing/sales support catch-all for family farmed hard cider. In the past couple months I’ve built a website from scratch on Wix, made fancy-looking brochures, made new social media pages to start building up followers and impressions, and written lots of marketing copy…

Not bad for a creative writing major with no specific schooling in marketing or graphic design. I’m still trying to find my footing and get my work-life balance

But I do miss writing, both for this blog and the stories I haven’t been working on for the past month or two. I want to focus back in on that once the unpacking is all done and I have more free, non feeling-burnt-out time at home. I’m also considering opening up my blog theme a little more to include social media tips or something. What do you think, are there any questions you’d like answered that sound like they would be in my skill set?

Leave a Reply

