Sunday Gratitudes #17

If you still need an extra push to actually make gratitude a part of your daily life, reading inspirational materials can be a powerful means of, as Emmons puts it, ‘massaging the truths contained in them deep into our bones.’ Everyone from Ralph Waldo Emerson to Charles Dickens has weighed in on the importance of giving thanks, and spending a few minutes reading others’ reflections on the importance of the practice will help you take it seriously in your own life, Emmons says.” (x)

I’m grateful for…

🦁 – My mom!

🦁 – Being able to place hold requests for audiobooks at the library. I’m currently first in line for a Shannara Chronicles book, second for three others, and only ninth for a copy of The Martian.

🦁 – Cuddling in bed on lazy weekend mornings.

🦁 – That the traffic cop who pulled me over for speeding took it easy on me. Not enough to not give me a ticket, but it really could have been worse.

🦁 – Not spending the rest of that day agonizing about getting my first ever speeding ticket.

🦁 – Easy Mac.

🦁 – Chunky peanut butter and Ritz crackers.

🦁 – Black tea with honey.

🦁 – That the dog brings me socks every time I come home as a gesture of love and missing me.

🦁 – That the kitten sometimes beats him to the front door to greet me/yell at me affectionately.

🦁 – The gauzy, erie beauty of fog under the streetlights.

🦁 – Figgy Piggy pizza from Pizza My Heart.

🦁 – Getting invited to have drinks with my new coworkers.

🦁 – That my grandma went out of her way to make me macaroni and cheese because she knows I don’t like chili (my cousin’s traditional birthday party food).

🦁 – Laughing at things with my family.  


What have you felt grateful for this week?

One thought on “Sunday Gratitudes #17

Leave a Reply

