Sunday Gratitudes #14

“Gratitude is as much about what you don’t say as what you do, according to Emmons — and indeed, as NBC has reported, studies suggest that complaining about one’s problems may be linked to depression and anxiety. Of course, research has also found that there can be benefits to venting, so it’s all about striking a balance.” (x)

I’m grateful for…

🐝 – Days when the top of the Golden Gate Bridge disappear into the fog, swallowed as mysteriously as time into the past.

🐝 – Cars with Bernie 2016 bumper stickers.

🐝 – Tunnel wishes. You know the kids game where you hold your breath and make a wish, and if you can hold it until the end of the tunnel your wish will come true? I’ve found that the things I wish for tend to be things that are within my control, and the wish makes me more mindful of making it happen. I wonder if this is how prayers work.

🐝 – The interesting compliment of 2001: A Space Odyssey, the book, to 2001: A Space Odyssey, the movie. I watched the movie a couple times growing up because my parents are that kind of sci fi nerds, and the book fills in nearly all the parts of the movie that baffled me. I’m so entranced, I really want to get my hands on the next book now. And maybe rewatch the first and second movies.

🐝 – Having the courage to drive in the lane next to the movable barrier on the Golden Gate Bridge while it’s down to only two lanes, the most harrowing time. Passing people in those narrow conditions always makes me nervous, but it’s okay. There’s enough space and I can breathe through it.

🐝 – The grateful thought I had yesterday about tunnels and prayer. It’s made my commute into something like a twice daily pilgrimage. I am struggling but I can still ask myself for things, and I have the power to make those things happen.

🐝 – The wisdom supplied by the book I’m currently reading, Eat Pray Love: that having a baby is like getting a tattoo on your face, and you have to be sure. Someday I plan on being sure.

🐝 – My first business trip!

🐝 – Working for magazine, especially one that really encourages learning.

🐝 – Not missing any of my flights.

🐝 – The salad I had my first night in Indianapolis. It had chicken, spinach, goat cheese, nuts, strawberries, blackberries, blueberries, tomato, pear, and an amazing vinaigrette. Best. Salad.

🐝 –  Dinner at the Hard Rock Cafe with one of my coworkers and her husband. They’re interesting people. We actually had a civil conversation about politics, even though all of us had different views.

🐝 – A great first conference, and getting to go up to accept one of the awards. Accidentally appropriate, because it turned out to be for an article involving social media. And I got all our awards pictures posted to social media within half an hour of getting them – best turnaround in the room, probably.

🐝 – Scoring a window seat on my first flight back, despite being in boarding group C with open seating.


 

What have you felt grateful for this week?

2 thoughts on “Sunday Gratitudes #14

  1. Grateful for breath. Grateful for pain-free days. Grateful for an awesome weekend trip to Philadelphia with sun-filled days. Grateful for spontaneous surprises like a Holocaust memorial service on Ben Franklin Parkway, a week before my grandpa’s funeral anniversary. Grateful for every single day!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

