The Ultimate Book Tag

I was tagged by Brigid Gorry-Hines to do the Ultimate Book Tag. 😀


  1. Do you get sick while reading in the car?

I didn’t when I was a kid, or randomly one spring while I was still in college, but I started getting carsick at some point in high school and the fun continues.

  1. Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you?

Douglas Adams. The Hitchhiker’s Guide radio series, books, and tv series all have such a strong voice — not so much the movie, which I don’t like all that much.

  1. Harry Potter series or Twilight saga? Give 3 points to explain your answer.

Harry Potter series.

First point: I haven’t read Twilight, largely because of the problematic relationship dynamic between Bella and Edward but also because, uh, sparkly vampires. I prefer my vampires more like the ones in Buffy The Vampire Slayer (soul-less demons with little to no moral compass, just their own self-interests) and Sunshine by Robin McKinley (unsettlingly inhuman, both in appearance, psychologically, and in the way the perceive different places in terms of uniformity of surroundings rather than physical distance — even the “good guy” vampire is decidedly not human, despite having a moral code).

Second point: I read these as a kid, and that sort of thing sticks with you. I remember my fifth grade teacher reading a UK copy of The Chamber of Secrets because it hadn’t come out in the US yet, but one of my classmates had just moved from England. I’ve reread them since, and while the earlier books are lighter and more geared for a younger audience (like, geared toward someone Harry’s age with each book) there’s a good amount of foreshadowing for the darker elements of later books, so the appeal is still there.

Third point: Although most of the characters in Harry Potter meet their future spouse at Hogwarts and seem basically fated to end up with said future spouse from early on even if they don’t get together for a long time, I think a vampire who’s over a hundred years old but still content to hang out in high school and date a seventeen-year-old is sillier.

  1. Do you carry a book bag? If so, what’s in it (besides books)?

Nope. I used to, but I don’t carry a lot of books because I gravitate more towards audiobooks which I can listen to while commuting to and from work. When I did have book bags, books were usually the only things that would fit because there were so many of them. Sometimes I’d have a couple pencils and a notebook or scrap paper in there too.

  1. Do you smell your books?

Not actively, but I enjoy the smell. I enjoy the times when it lingers on my fingertips for a while after I put the book down.

  1. Books with or without little illustrations?

I like illustrations.

Fun fact… Did you know that the word miniature is derived from the Latin minium, red lead? A a picture in an ancient or medieval illuminated manuscript; the simple decoration of the early codices having been miniated or delineated with that pigment.

  1. What book did you love while reading but discovered later it wasn’t quality writing?

Ahaha… I’ve read a lot of random things based on the principle of “what’s on the shelves” at the local library. I haven’t read any of these in a long time, but I’m going to guess that The Last Vampire series by Christopher Pike would not be as enthralling to me as it was when I was in… Hm, either late elementary school or middle school.

  1. Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Please share!

There was a book I had memorized and would correct my parents whenever they misread it or tried to skip over some part. I think it might have been Sleeping Beauty.

  1. What is the tiniest book on your shelf?

Brokeback Mountain by Annie Proulx.

  1. What’s the thickest book on your shelf?

Encyclopedia of Ancient Natural Scientists: The Greek Tradition and its Many Heirs. I haven’t read it yet but I have a feeling it will come in useful while working on my novel, where there’s no technology and societies have fallen back on more observation of nature.

  1. Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future as an author?

Yes and yes!

  1. When did you get into reading?

I think my mom told me once that I could read before I could walk. She was exaggerating, but I’ve always been a bookworm.

  1. What is your favorite classic book?

to-kill-a-mockingbird-2To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee. Of the books I had to read in high school, I appreciated it the most.

Helped along by the fact that in the 1962 film adaptation opening sequence is absolutely gorgeous.

  1. In school, what was your best subject?

Lit class!

  1. If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated, what would you do?

Say thank you. It would live on the back layer in one of my bookshelves forever, and eventually be shuffled into a giveaway donation.

  1. What is a lesser known series that you know that is similar to Harry Potter or the Hunger Games?

Okay, I’m not sure how lesser known it is now that it has a tv show on Syfy (which doesn’t follow the book all that closely but it’s still fun), but The Magicians by Lev Grossman. It’s like a combination of Harry Potter and The Chronicles of Narnia, but the characters start out as college-age and graduate halfway through the first book so it’s a lot more adult and a lot darker right off the bat.

  1. What is a bad habit you always do while blogging?

I should probably use images/my own pictures more often.

  1. ampersandWhat is your favorite word?


Ampersand!

 

  1. Are you a nerd, dork or dweeb? Or all of the above?

I am a dork, and a retired high school band geek.

  1. enhanced-buzz-15781-1370626713-14Vampires or Fairies? Why?

Vampires, as long as they’re like the kinds described in my answer to question 3, and not sparkly.

  1. Shapeshifters or Angels? Why?

Shapeshifters. Angels are too… Well, they’re either too goody goody or too preachy. And if they’re “just like regular people,” they’re just people with wings who maybe live longer than we do, which is too similar to 100+ year old vampires still in high school, in my opinion.

That said, the coolest portrayal of angels I’ve ever read was in Angelology by Danielle Trussoni, but the ending of that book made me so angry that I never picked up the rest of the series.

  1. Spirits or Werewolves? Why?

Werewolves. I keep wanting to write a story involving what happens when expecting mothers are bitten and their fetuses are put through the monthly changes too.

  1. 20131028-204418Zombies or Vampires? Why?

Zombies. I like vampires (the scary kind) but I’m a huge Walking Dead fan.

  1. Love triangle or forbidden love?

Either, I guess. Forbidden love is usually more interesting but Robin McKinley wrote some very interesting love triangles in Sunshine and The Hero & The Crown.

  1. And finally: Full on romance or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in?

Action-packed, I think. I like romance but it’s more interesting when that’s not the only thing that’s happening.


 

Tagged:

I’m not going to tag anyone else right now, but if you’re interested in doing this, just let me know and I will tag you. Cheers!

4 thoughts on “The Ultimate Book Tag

  1. Yay!! I enjoyed reading your answers. 😀 It’s kind of funny, the reverse thing happened to me with carsickness and reading––it used to make me sick as a kid, but not anymore. I bought a copy of The Magicians lately, I should get around to reading it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

