Quotes Challenge #3 – More Time

angular_momentum

Angular Momentum from XKCD, a webcomic by Randall Munroe

“What are you doing?”

“Spinning counterclockwise
Each turn robs the planet of angular momentum
Slowing its spin the tiniest bit
Lengthening the night, pushing back the dawn
Giving me a little more time here
With you”

When I first saw this in college it inspired several projects in my visual arts class. It continued to ring true during the year my partner spent abroad, and any time we saw each other in person there was always a necessary time limit attached. I think this comic is really very sweet because it’s about those moments when you never want to let them go, but it isn’t as simple as asking them to stay.

A committed relationship is a huge emotional investment, and distance puts a strain on it. When my parents first started dating, and my mom had to go back to school in another state at the end of the summer, they could only afford the long distance calls every now and then. Luckily, it’s not that hard to stay in close contact anymore. I had iMessaging, Facetime, and Skype at my fingertips and in my pocket, but even so, communication without all the visual and tactile cues that you would get in person is still hard.

I knew that going in, we both did — but we still thought it was worth it. If I’m really being honest, too, a lot of the communication issues that weren’t because of distance forced me to look at myself more closely and start to grow up in certain ways. I’m not done by a long shot, but I know that I’ve already become a better person and I have the love of my life to thank for that.

“How do you know if something is real? That’s easy. Does it change you? Does it form you? Does it give you wings? Does it give you roots? Does it make you look back at a month ago and say, ‘I am a whole different person right now’? If yes, then it’s real. The evidence of truth and reality, lies in how much something can touch you, can change you, even if it’s from very far away. Distance is only the evidence of what can be surpassed.” ~ C. JoyBell C.

This is a sappy post, I know. But Valentine’s Day is coming up and we’re still together, so I have a lot of emotions.

On a less sappy note, this webcomic also had a profound effect on my style as an artist. I have never been good at drawing faces and didn’t have any formal instruction in figure drawing until my sophomore year of college, but this comic showed me that actual faces weren’t a strict requirement for creating an expressive figure. When I started just drawing without faces, a significant portion of my self-consciousness when it came to figure drawing dropped away. One of my favorites is on the wall in our living room.

quote day 3

Treasure what you have, whether they’re people or abilities. Embrace them. Try to hold onto them for as long as you can. I’m rusty at both sketching and watercolors by now, and I kind of regret that… I’ll revive those hobbies someday, probably when I have a larger workspace at home.

What do you want a little more time with?


 

The rules of the quote challenge are:

  • Post on three consecutive days
  • Post one to three quotes per day
  • Challenge three different bloggers each day

I was nominated by amusing2write, who you should go visit, and today I nominate the following. Check out these blogs!

Leave a Reply

